Girlfriends Half Marathon

Running, Running and More Running! Well and some walking and a bit of Insanity (more of this to come later after the half marathon).

This summer I started jogging and working out more. My inspiration … a friend of mine (Melissa) invited me to run with her in the Girlfriends Half Marathon. Being the good friend that I am, I had to say YES! Let’s go for it. So Vancouver, WA here we come – Melissa, Jen and I. Come cheer us on, we just might need your energy. (details below)

Just this last Wednesday I broke my personal record 6 miles – 8.5 miles if you add in the miles from my morning jaunt. Wow a pretty good day for me, I’d say. If you knew me from High School you would know that I am/was not much of a runner. In PE I would walk the whole mile, never run, I hated it! Now, hmmm not so much; I’m rather having fun, I think I really like challenge.

Here is the best part of this running thing: Not am I only doing something good for myself; I get to help raise money to benefit Breast Cancer Research.

Girlfriends Half Marathon
Event Date(s): 10/16/2011 – 9:00am

Event Beneficiary:
Susan G. Komen for the Cure®
We have all either directly or indirectly been impacted by the effects of breast cancer. One hundred percent of the profits of the Girlfriends Half Marathon will go directly to the Oregon & SW Washington Affiliate of the Susan G. Komen for the Cure®, the world’s largest and most progressive grassroots network of breast cancer survivors and activists. The organization’s promise is to save lives and end breast cancer forever by empowering people, ensuring quality care for all and energizing science to find the cures. The Susan G. Komen for the Cure® is dedicated to curing breast cancer at every stage – from the causes to the cures, to the pain and anxiety of every moment in between.
Visit their website here.

Leave a Reply

