Canned Salsa 2011

As a little girl, I can always remember my mom canning. She often canned salsa. She always made it thick and chunky, just the way I like it. Based on her recipe and a couple more ingredients I started canning my own salsa.

This year my garden was plentiful with tomatoes, peppers, onions and garlic so I was able to use my own produce for this years batch. Home garden tomatoes are the best! The flavor just does not even compare to store bought tomatoes.

I used tomatoes, red onion, jalapenos peppers , serrano peppers, hot thai peppers, holy mole peppers, garlic and cilantro. Everything was from my garden except the cilantro (I had already used up my garden cilantro for my fresh salsa during the summer).

All chopped up. I reserve the cilantro for the very end. I use the whole tomato – even the skin and seeds. I cut them chunky, so pretty large pieces.

You will want to add some lime (store bought, wish I had a lime tree.) I’m thinking it may not survive in the Pacific Northwest. If you have a lime tree here, let me know. 🙂 You can also use lemon juice, I just prefer the lime in my salsa. I also add a little salt.

After washing all my jars and lids, I give them a steam bath in my clean sink. I cover them in boiling hot water and leave them to set while I bring my salsa to boil. Just after it boils I add the cilantro.

Next fill your hot jars with your salsa. Be care the jars are scolding hot. I use the canning pliers (probably not really the name of them, but that is what they remind me of). I grab the jars with it, place the jar upright, place the canning funnel on the jar and start pouring the jars full (1 jar at a time). Sprinkle a pinch of salt on the top. Then I use a magnetic tool to pick up the lids and seals (out of the boiling water); place the seal, add the lid and twist it shut. Then here comes my mom’s trick to ensure sealing. Immediuatly turn the jar upside down. They seal really quick this way. Then there you have it … canned salsa … summer flavors ready for winter.

One thought on “Canned Salsa 2011

Leave a Reply

