French Bread

Where did I learn to cook? Well … from my mom of course! I will be sharing from time to time some recipes that my mom shares with me. Today it will be French Bread. She is more of a baker than I. For me, baking is too much measuring, everything has to be just right for it to turn out perfect. Where cooking … a bit of this and a bit of that … tastes good to me … perfect!

Ingredients:
6 1/2 cups flour
2 1/2 packages RapidRise active dry yeast
2 tbs granulated sugar
1 tbs salt
2 1/2 cups of water
1 tbs of butter or shortening
Directions:
Preheat oven to 375% F. Mix all dry ingredients, set aside. Mix water, butter, luke warm to touch. Mix in with dry ingredients. Let set for 15 minutes. Divide into 2 balls. Roll out 2 (15 x 12 inch rectangles). Starting with long edge, roll up tightly; seal well. Taper ends and tuck under. Oil hands and tap all around dough. Set in greased baking dish (cake pan or cookie sheet) side by side leaving room to rise. Let rise 1-1.5 hours until dough doubles in size. Bake on 375% F. for about 20 minutes. Rub top with some butter … let set for about 30 minutes.
Leave a Reply

