Chicken Enchilada Soup

When you don’t have much time to spare, crock pot meals sure do come in handy. This recipe is so simple and yummy.

For me this worked out perfectly. Yesterday was a very busy day, between work … running to drop off and pick up my girls to and from school … then basketball practice and trying to feed Rick before he had to leave for work. And it was cold and rainy, so this was the prefect meal.

While my girls were getting ready for school, I got my crock pot out and cranked it to high. Then added 1/2 a can of pre-made enchilada sauce (I prefer homemade, but when your in a pinch and short on time,fast and easy wins the battle.) I reserved this sauce from last week when I made enchiladas. The sauce is what really makes the flavor in this recipe, brands taste different, so choose your favorite. Also so you can choose mild, medium or hot. Next add 2 cups of chicken broth, this, too reserved from my boiled chicken from last week. Then I cut up (or rather I should say Rick cut up the chicken into chunks for me, while I was fixing my girls hair and lunch. No need to pre-cook, just toss into the crock pot with the sauce and broth.

After I returned from dropping my girls off, grocery shopping and working for a couple hours; I turned the crock pot on low and tossed in my chopped red onions, red bell pepper, green bell pepper and tomato. Next I added 1/2 a bag of frozen corn and a can of black beans. Then added chili powder and paprika. Then back to work for a couple more hours.

By now, 1:00 PM, the chicken was cooked. I added the jasmine rice (already had cooked from night before’s dinner). Let it cook for another 30 minutes on low and served it to Rick.

Note: if you add rice, wait until just before serving, if it sets in the crock pot for, too long it will soak up the sauce and expand. Also you can set your crock pot on low and add all the ingredient (except the rice) before you head to work or head out for the day, retuning to a very filling dinner. My girls and I ate around 4:00 PM. Alyssa loves this, it’s one of her favorite dinners. Breanna, not so much, but she ate some anyway.

Chicken Enchillada Soup

3-4 chicken breasts; I like lots of chicken
1/2 large can of enchilada sauce (or 15 oz can)
2 cups chicken broth
1 can black beans
1/2 bag of frozen corn
1 chopped green bell pepper
1 chopped red bell pepper
1/2 chopped red onion
1 TBSP chili powder
1 TBSP paprika

Optional toppings: sour cream, shredded cheese, avocado, green onions, cilantro, and jalapenos. Tortilla chips on the side for dipping.

Making it for dinner? Share with me how it turned out and if you made any changes. What did you top it with. You can post pictures of your Chicken Enchilada Soup on my Simply-ThisNThat Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

